Cathedral of Echmiadzin The center of Armenian

Comments

Transcription

Cathedral of Echmiadzin The center of Armenian
Cathedral of Echmiadzin
The center of Armenian Apostolic church- St.
Echmiadzin is located 20 km far from Yerevan. The
Cathedral of Echmiadzin was founded at the
beginning of the forth century and is one of the
oldest churches in the world. According to the
legend the church was built in the place where
apparition of Jesus Christ was seen to Grigory the
Illuminator in the dream.
The interior of the church is covered with frescoes
created by Hovnatanyan family. The residence of
the Catholicos and the Theological Academy are
situated near the Cathedral.
The Museum "Treasures of Echmiadzin"
The Museum "Treasures of Echmiadzin" is situated
in the southeast section of the Cathedral. Unique
holy relics and religious art are now housed in the
museum. Among the many treasures are: the Holy
Lance (Geghard) which pierced the side of Christ,
housed in a silver reliquary; the relics of Noah's Ark
in a reliquary that was created in 1698 and other
valuable pieces of art. According to the history, the
relic of Noah's Ark, was given to Patriarch St.
Hakob (Jacob) of Mts'bna in the fourth century, as
he desired to climb the peak of Mount Ararat to find
Noah's Ark.
Sardarapat
This memorial sculptural complex is built in the
sunny Ararat valley. By allegories it represents the
Armenian-turkish battle in 1918 and glorifies the
brilliant victory of Armenian people. Near the
entrance of the complex there are two huge
winged bulls symbolizing the persistence of
Armenian nation and the alley fringed by five
eagles leads to the Ethnography museum with a
rich exhibition of Armenian culture, trades and
crafts.
Zvartnots
This marvelous temple is a result of skillfulness
and brave creativity of Armenian architects of the
7th century. Having been built on several columns
it could survive only till the 10th century. When in
the beginning of the 20th century this site was
being excavated many specialists could hardly
accept its reconstruction model designed by
famous Armenian architect Toros Toramanyan as
it was difficult to believe that such a huge and
complicated construction could have been built
those days.
Tsitsernakaberd
The memorial-complex to the victims of the
Armenian genocide towers over Tsitsernakaberd
hill. At the center of the monument there is the
Memorial Sepulcher with eternal flame and twelve,
tall basalt slabs leaning over the flame. As a part of
the Monument the arrow-shaped 44 meters high
granite ste-le symbolizes the spiritual rebirth and
bold spirit of the Armenian people. The Genocide
Museum is a special constituent part of the
complex. The exhibit contains many large photos
taken by the witnesses, archival documents,
documentary films and the original documents
issued by international organizations.
Pantheon
Park after Komitas and Pantheon is located in
Yerevan’s Shengavit District, on the right side of
the main Arshakunyats Avenue. Many outstanding
figures of Armenia's artistic world are buried here,
including Komitas (1869-1935), the founder of
Armenian national music, after whom it is named.
Yerablur
Yerablur is a military cemetery located on a hilltop
in the outskirts of Yerevan, Armenia. Since 1988,
Yerablur has become the burial place of Armenian
soldiers who lost their lives during the NagornoKarabakh war. Many famous Armenian heroes are
buried in this military cemetery.
Amberd
The principal architectural features of medieval
fortress-building have found their reflection in this
fortress. Having been built on a naturally welldefended cape, Amberd has for long time served
as an important military fort. Next to this secular
edifice there is a church built in 1026 by the duke
VahramPahlavuni.
"Armenian alphabet monument"
"Armenian alphabet monument" is located in the
village of Artashavan, at the east side bottom of
Mt. Aragats. It was erected in 2005 to the 1600
anniversary of creation of the Armenian alphabet
by the design of the famous Armenian architect
Jim Torosyan. The monument is an interesting demonstration of the stone carvings of 39 Armenian
letters. The Armenian
alphabet has been used to write the Armenian
language since the year 405 or 406 and is still
used to present Armenian language in written form.
It was devised by Saint Mesrop Mashtots, an
Armenian linguist and ecclesiastical leader.
Haghpat
Situated not far from SanahinHaghpat monastery
has its significant place in the historical and cultural
life of Armenia. It was built during the reign of king
AshotBagratuni. Numerous valuable manuscripts
and miniature paintings have been produced in the
scriptorium of Haghpat for many centuries. In the
18th century the famous Armenian bard SayatNova used to
live and create in this monastery. The belfry with its
unique architectural composition is of stunning
interest.
Sanahin
The monastery of Sanahin is on the right bank of
Debed River. This architectural complex consists
of several churches, seminary, book depository.
The building of the seminary, which connects St.
Astvatsastin (Holy Mother of God) and Allsaviour
churches was from the outset built to make the
edifices more earthquake resistant.
Tsaghkadzor
Tsaghkadzor city ("Valley of flowers") is considered
to be one of the most popular winter resorts of
Armenia. It is one of the places of our mountainous
country, where the beauty of the nature appears
with its whole variety. Tsaghkadzor is situated in
Kotayk region, 50 kilometers North from Yerevan,
on the eastern slope of Teghenis Mountain and is
surrounded with virginal woods and alpine
meadows.
Noratus
The art of khachkar (cross-stone) is the most
original manifestation of Armenian medieval
culture. Noratus which is truly considered to be a
forest of khachkars and open-air museum, displays
hundreds of khachkars, the most stunning of which
are the so called "embroidered" ones typical to the
13th-14th centuries. This is a unique place, where
one can reveal the development of khachkarial art
in its historical process.
Lake Sevan
The fascination and the pearl of mountainous
Armenia is Sevan Lake, which is one of the world's
greatest high altitude fresh-water lakes. It is about
1900 m above sea level. The lake is of volcanic
origin and is surrounded with mountains of 3000 m
and higer. The beautiful landscape and the crystal
water serve nice preconditions for excellent
rest.The lake is also famous for its peninsula and
medieval church complex built in 874.
Sevanavank
A marvelous scene opens in the north-western part
of Sevan Lake, where the peninsula towers over
the transparent surface of the lake. Sevanavank
monastery was built on the peninsula in 874 by the
order of king AshotBagratuni's daughter princess
Mariam. The silhouette of the churches against the
background of the turquoise lake and blue sky
casts unexplainable impression on the visitors.
Dilijan
Dilijan entices people with its unforgettable beauty
and mild climate. The city stretches on the banks
of Aghstev river, surrounded with mountains and
forests. Dilijan has the fame of a health resort. The
warm sun, fresh air and natural spas have great
healing influence on people. Dilijan is also rich in
interesting architectural monuments.
Goshavank
Goshavank was founded by the famous medieval
scientist, fabulist Mkhitar Gosh. The complex
consists of several religious and secular buildings.
The unrivalled khachkar put in front of the onenaved basilica was created by the skillful master
Poghos in 1291.Goshavank used to be one of the
most famous religious and cultural centers in
medieval Armenia.
Haghartsin
Haghartsin monastery situated in the woodlands of
Tavush region represents an indescribable
example of blend of nature with architecture. It was
founded in the 10-11th centuries, though new
buildings were added in the 12-13th centuries.
Now it consists of St. Grigor, St. Astvatsatsin (Holy
Mother of God), St. Stepanos churches and some
other buildings.The refectory due to its skillful
architectural composition is of great interest. The
huge oak tree, which is almost at the age of the
monastery, completes the whole scene.
Garni
Garni temple which towers over a triangular cape,
is the unique survived example of heathen culture
in Armenia. It is a blend of Greco-Roman and
Armenian styles. King Trdat the First ordered
building the temple in the first century A.D. and
dedicated it to the God of Sun. After adopting
Christianity in 301 the pagan temple lost its
significance and the fortress of Garni became the
summer residence of the kings. Nowadays the
ruins of the royal palace and the bathroom with a
stunning mosaic work can be found near the
temple.
Geghard
Geghard monastery is the unsurpassable
masterpiece of the 13th century Armenian
architecture. Some of the churches of the complex
are masterfully hewn in a huge rock. From the
outset the complex was called Ayrivank (cave
monastery), later it was renamed Geghard (lance),
as the lance used by the roman soldier to sting
Jesus Christ's side, was kept in this monastery for
many centuries. Due to its construction
Geghardavank serves the best place for singing
spiritual songs. The complex is rich in subtle
sculptural embellishments and many striking
khachkars (cross-stones).
Khor Virap
Khor Virap is the most famous pilgrimage site in
Armenia, as it is directly connected with the
adoption of Christianity. As a state religion
Christianity in Armenia was adopted in 301 due to
endeavors of Saint Gregory the Illuminator, who
before converting king Trdat the 3rd to Christianity,
was imprisoned in the dungeon over which a
church of Khor Virap monastery was built in the
17th century. From the monastery one can admire
the stunning view of the Biblical Mount Ararat.
Noravank
Passing a narrow road surrounded by rocks of
hundred caves one discovers a scene of harmony
of architecture with nature. The monastery
enshrined with fine architectural solutions and
luxurious embellishments is one of the brightest
examples of Armenian architecture of the 13th
century.
Noravank consists of St. Karapet, St. Grigory the
Illuminator churches and St. Astvatsatsin (Holy
Mother of God) twostorey church, which is notable
for its ideal constructive and sculptural work.
Jermuk
The famous health resort Jermuk is in the northeastern part of VayotsDzor. Jermuk mineral waters
have been famous for their medicinal properties
since early medieval. A special drinking gallery has
been constructed for visitors, along which pump
rooms with mineral water are lined up.The water
temperature varies from 30 to 50 degrees C.
Tatev monastery
Among the architectural pillars of Zangezour the
monastery of Tatev doesn't have its rivals. This
used to be wealthiest medieval monastery in
Armenia. Besides being a religious center Tatev
was also the important strategical center of Syunik
kingdom.
Being situated on a naturally defended place
Tatevmonastery has always been an impregnable
fortress for alien. In non-stable political conditions
the several secret ways in the territory of the
fortress led the way to the canyon and served as a
link between the monastery and external world.
Tatev Ropeway
Church bells were ringing loud in Tatev on October
16 of 2010, heralding the launch of a program to
revive a medieval monastic complex and the
opening of an aerial tramway called Wings of
Tatev. The 5.7-kilometer ropeway was built within
11 months, passes through a deep gorge of the
River Vorotan and over hills covered with lush
forests. The tramway is supported by three towers
between its two terminals. One terminal is on a hill
overlooking the village of Halidzor and the other is
near Tatev Monastery, on the road to Tatev village.
Two cabins operate at once, traveling in opposite
directions.
Goris
Goris is one of the main cities of Syunik region.
This park-city, despite the natural cuts, has a wellorganized ground plan. The city is surrounded with
woody mountains and just next to the forests there
are stunning pyramidical rocks which seem to
scratch the clouds. Due to its exceptional nature
Goris is considered the "beauty" of Zangezour.
Khndzoresk
Khndzoresk is located at a distance of 8 km from
Goris. The village is famous for its natural stone
carpets. Old Khndzoresk is situated on the two
slopes of the mountainous valley. There were no
flat areas on those slopes for building settlements
and for this reason people used caves.
During the national liberation movement of Syunik
(1722 -1730) due to its inaccessible geographical
position Khndzo-resk served as a stronghold for
Syunik.
Karahunj
The scientific expeditions proved Karahunj to be
one of the oldest observatories in the world. It is
said to be about 7500 years old. Some of the
precisingly arranged huge stones have holes bored
into them, which were used for astrological
observations. The petroglyphs found nearby
Karahunj reveal that the early inhabitants in
Armenia were well aware of astrology.
Selim
The Selim pass connecting Vayots Dzor and
Gegharkunik districts, has been an important trade
route from times immemorial.
The long caravans with loaded camels were
passing this way. Perceiving the necessity of
having a place to stop after long and tiring journeys
the Armenian duke Chesar Orbelian in 1332
ordered building a caravansary on this long
serpentine road of Selim pass. This is a three nave
building lightened only through the windows on the
ceiling as out of security concern they foresaw no
windows on the walls.
Erebuni Museum
The fortress of Erebuni is on Arin-Berd hill. It was
built in 782 B.C. by the Urartian king Argishti the
first. During the excavations started in the 20th
century a cuneiform inscription was found,
according to which the history of nowadays
Yerevan starts from this place. On the top of the
hill the ruins of the citadel and the frescoes on the
wall reveal the high artistic achievements of those
remote centuries. The museum down the hill
displays the findings that have been excavated in
the territory of the fortress.
Yerevan Zoo
Yerevan Zoo was established in 1940. At present
the zoo is home to about 2749 individuals
representing 204 species. Species representing
the South Caucasus and Armenia include brown
bears, Bezoar goats, vipers, Armenian mouflon,
and black vultures. Other species at the zoo from
around the
world include lions, tigers, hyenas, etc.
Blue Mosque
Blue Mosque is the only operating mosque in
Armenia. During the Soviet era, because of
secularist policy, the Mosque stopped its services
and became the Museum of Yerevan. After the
independence of Armenia, with the support from
Iranian government, the premises again started
acting as a Mosque.
St. Grigor Lusavorich Church
St. Gregory the Illuminator Cathedral in Yerevan
was solemnly consecrated in 2001. It was built on
the occasion of 1700th anniversary of Christianity in
Armenia and symbolically seats 1700 people. The
church is in a large park next to one of the central
streets of Yerevan.
Vardan Mamikonyan monument
Vardan Mamikonian, also known as Saint Vardan,
was an Armenian military leader, a martyr and a
saint of the Armenian Church. Vardan Mamikonian,
a member of the Mamikonian family, is revered as
one of the greatest military and spiritual leaders of
Christian Armenia in the 5th century. Major
Armenian churches are named after Saint Vardan .
A major equestrian statue representing him is
located in the Armenian capital Yerevan.
Lovers’ Park
Located on the nicely-paved and tree-lined
Baghramyan Avenue, Lover’s Park is a year-round
open getaway. Japanese traditional landscaping
has been a major source of inspiration for the
park’s design project. One of the highlights of the
park is the stone compositions and sculptures,
which feature decorative lighting at night. There
are benches in the park, honoring the 60th
anniversary of the UK Queen Elizabeth II’s reign.
Also, you can find a very unique bench of
conciliation in the park.
Circle Gardens
This is one of the most favorite parks of the youth,
visited by a large number of students, which is due
to the park’s location close to some of Yerevan’s
most popular universities, including the famous
State University of Yerevan. It's the longest park of
Yerevan, stretching along the territory called "Small
Center". The park teems with nice cafes, gorgeous,
kid-friendly attractions and rides. Of great interest
is the park’s majestic fountain and the artificial
lake.
Sasuntsi Davit monument
In the centre of the square, surrounded by the
Railway Workers’ Cultural Centre, a cinema and
residential blocks, stands the statue of Davit
Sasuntsi, a mythological hero of the Armenian folk
epic poem. The sculptor was Yervand Kochar.
From generation to generation, from century to
century, people have handed down tales of Davit's
deeds, his gigantic strength. The episode of the
crucial battle when Davit, unwilling to shed the
blood of the enemy soldiers, challenged their
leader Msyrmelik, ruler of the Arab caliphate of
Msyr, to a duel and defeated him, is particularly
enthralling.

Similar documents

etnoarmenia - Ferien

etnoarmenia - Ferien After breakfast, departure towards Kotayk Region to visit the temple of Garni, a pagan Hellenistic temple of the first century AD and the only one to survive after the Christianization of Armenia i...

More information

A Renewal of Faith Pilgrimage to Armenia

A Renewal of Faith Pilgrimage to Armenia The  fortress,  founded  in  the  7th  century  by  Pahlavouni  princes,  had  its  own  water‐supply  pipe  which  channels  springs  from  the  Aragats  Mountain.  The  church  inside  the  fort...

More information