Brochure - The Guenther House

Comments

Transcription

Brochure - The Guenther House
For Private Parties
& Gatherings
The Guenther House is a wonderful
setting for any special event. The entire
facility can be rented for a private event
after hours.
hether you are in San Antonio
for the first time, or have lived
here all your life, a visit to
the Guenther House is special.
For a few moments you can step back in
time into the life of an early Texas miller’s
family. Imagine someone playing a tune on
the piano…the laughter of children…guests
dancing the night away in the Roof Garden.
The Guenther House. Welcome.
W
C.
H.
Gu
enthe
r & Son
, In
c.
GUENTHER HOUSE RESTAURANT
HOURS MONDAY - SUNDAY
Breakfast 7 am - 3 pm
Lunch 11 am - 3 pm
Sunday Lunch 10 am - 3 pm
The Roof Garden
The entire upper floor of the Guenther House is
referred to as The Roof Garden, a spacious, airy
former ballroom with an adjoining open terrace
overlooking the San Antonio River. The Roof Garden
features a charming brick fireplace, fountain, well,
porcelain tile floors, ceiling lanterns and wall sconces.
The Roof Garden may be used for business meetings,
conferences, charitable functions and private parties.
The Arbor
Museum
THE GUENTHER HOUSE AND
THE SAN ANTONIO RIVER MILL STORE
HOURS MONDAY - SATURDAY
(photo back cover)
For outdoor gatherings, The Arbor
offers a unique party atmosphere. The
graceful arched canopy with it's ceiling
fans provides a gentle breeze over the
table settings below. The lovely flower
beds and landscaping complement the
atmosphere, as well as its proximity to
the San Antonio River.
8 am - 4 pm
Sunday
8 am - 3 pm
PARKING: Entrance on South Alamo Street
Telephone:(210) 227-1061
Toll-Free: (800) 235-8186
205 East Guenther Street
San Antonio, Texas 78204
www.guentherhouse.com
C.
H.
Gu
enth
The San Antonio
River Mill Store
Restaurant
n
er & So
n
, I
c.
The Guenther House
Carl Hilmar Guenther, the founder of Pioneer
Flour Mills, built this elegant home in 1859.
It has been restored by the company and
welcomes visitors as a museum, restaurant,
banquet facility and retail store. The house is
located on a bend of the San Antonio River,
at the foot of King William, one of the oldest
historical districts in Texas.
The Restaurant
The San Antonio
River Mill Store
The Parlour
Part of the original structure,
the Parlour dates to 1859 and
reflects the Victorian influence
of the period. The room is
dominated by a crystal chandelier, dramatic window cornices
and wall mirrors of gold leaf.
It is furnished with the original
piano from Stuttgart, Germany
and the family’s carefully
restored period furniture.
The River Mill Store, located in the former
upstairs music room and bedroom now
features a unique line of gourmet baking
products and cooking utensils, as well as
regional cookbooks and custom stoneware by
local artisans. The fireplaces are part of the
room’s original décor, as is the distinct tile
work. These rooms offer a wonderful view of
the San Antonio River.
The Museum
Once the library, the Museum now displays Pioneer
Flour Mills memorabilia, such as baking accessories
and cookie cutters, as well as Guenther family photos
and remembrances. Of special delight to collectors
are the Dresden china anniversary plates. These were
made in Germany until WWII and were given to
customers of the Mill.
One of the Dresden china
anniversary plates
commissioned annually.
These rooms reflect the Art Nouveau style
of the 1920’s in their use of the stained glass
ivy window panels and the decorative plaster
corn and wheat motif of the miller’s trade. The
restaurant is open for both breakfast and lunch
and features baked items: breads, pastries,
pancakes and waffles, as well as sandwiches,
soups and salads, and our specialty, biscuits
and gravy.