What is “The Next Level” looking for? And

Comments

Transcription

What is “The Next Level” looking for? And
What is “The Next Level” looking for?
And
Player Evaluation and Selection
Scott Halpenny
Director of Scouting
Erie Otters OHL Hockey Club
Evaluate the (Reachable) Potential
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
2
ERIE OTTERS
PROSPECT
EVALUATION
FORM
(From RinkNet Scouting
System)
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
3
CREATING AN
EVALUATION CRITERIA
 Create an evaluation criteria that makes it clear to
the evaluators (scouts) what they should observe and
value.
 Ensure that the evaluation criteria are calibrated
with the team’s mission statement, goals, and long
term plan.
 Evaluators need to be aware of the ‘type’ of players
who will be successful within the team’s goals, and
therefore lead to team success.
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
4
EVALUATION CRITERIA
THE FUNDAMENTALS
Base skills. The traits that every coach wants, and every
player needs to possess:
 Skating
 Hockey Sense
 Puck Skills
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
5
"Individual commitment to a group effort -­‐ that is what makes a team work, a company work, a society work, a civiliza<on work." -­‐-­‐Vince Lombardi OBJECTIVE: To iden<fy and [email protected] players whose aAributes will contribute to both individual and team success within the framework and expecta<on of the coaching staff. AGGRESSIVE Forecheck hard. Send two men hard. Create turnovers. Set an ‘in your face’ tone. Take away <me and space in all three zones. Fast and Physical. TENACITY! REQUIRED SKILLS AND CHARACTERISTICS Ska<ng Willingness to compete Ini<ates and enjoys contact. Ability to understand angles and cuMng down the ice. Ability to play with pace, keep feet moving Physical. Majority of team that finishes checks, without compromising defensive posi<oning. A team that is willing to defend each other and are willing to be physical for their teammate. Intelligence. Able to finish checks without taking themselves out of the play. Tenacity. Finishes every check. Start to end of [email protected] Selflessness. A good teammate. Wants to defend teammates. Speed. Can get to and aAack spaces quickly. High tempo. Roll four lines, who all play with high pace. Ska<ng Discipline. Willing to keep [email protected] short, pace high. Keep feet moving Intelligence. Hockey sense allows the coach to use larger bench, more fresh bodies DEFENSIVELY RESPONSIBLE Most important iden<fying factor. Players who stay on the defensive side of the puck. A team of players who do not ‘cheat’. REQUIRED SKILLS AND CHARACTERISTICS Disciplined. Willing to play within the system. Unselfish. Plays for the team, and not himself. "Offense sells <ckets; Defense wins championships“ Paul ‘Bear’ Bryant. OFFENSIVE Puck possession team. Team that can cycle down low, and create scoring chances off the cycle. REQUIRED SKILLS AND CHARACTERISTICS Strong on puck. Good puck protec<on skills. Good quickness. Ability to ‘spin out’ and aAack space or a seam. The ability to physically overmatch an opponent to create a scoring chance, vs trying to s<ckhandle by him. COMPETE REQUIRED SKILLS AND CHARACTERISTICS A required base for a coach to use as a building block to develop the player. A player who fights for posi<on and looks for an edge all over the ice. Create a culture wherein other players feel a responsibility to adapt to. High character. Willingness to compete. Hard to play against. Engages in baAles, takes a piece of his opponent from every baAle. Ability to ‘get it’. Examples: Winger figh<ng for posi<on on a faceoff, or a defenceman baAling to box out, despite there being a remote chance of the puck geMng to the net. Natural leadership quali<es. A player who others naturally follow. Posi<ve leadership. Leadership by ac<on. SIZE REQUIRED SKILLS AND CHARACTERISTICS All other things being equal, a bigger player can be more effec<ve and in<mida<ng at an ‘in your face’ style of game. Bigger players, with some excep<on are beAer at winning baAles. Effort has to be made to weigh size against speed and tenaciousness. Above average height, or poten<al (gene<cs) for above average height. Signs that the player has room remaining for both growth and development. (body type, physical maturity, coordina<on level) Andrew Shaw Chicago Blackhawks Owen Sound AGack Tenacious, Speed, Compe<tor, In your face, aggressive Adam Pelech Erie OGers BaAle, willingness, defensive play, leadership, size, aggressive Connor Brown Erie OGers Ska<ng, skills, smarts and tenacity. Makes things happen. To create ‘excellence’ within the organiza<on, Coaching, Scou<ng, and Hockey Opera<ons need to ensure that goals and expecta<ons are communicated and aligned. Coaching Hockey Opera<ons Scou<ng EVALUATION CRITERIA
THE VARIABLES
The traits that coaches may place differing importance
on. Players may be able to succeed with a differing
levels of competency in the following. These are also
more difficult to evaluate than the base skills:
 Physical Play
 Defensive Play
 Competitiveness
 Psychological Factors
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
15
EVALUATION CRITERIA
THE NEEDS
The traits that every coach wants, and every player
needs to possess:
 Focus Area (Hard to play against, Dynamic Leadership, Skilled
Dman)
 Defensive Play
 Competitiveness
 Psychological Factors
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
16
EVALUATION TOOLS
(TANGIBLES AND INTANGIBLES)
 On-Ice
 Games
 Practices
 Formulate evaluation drills
 Evaluate skills, team skills, hockey sense, work ethic, compete
 Off-Ice
 Fitness Testing (Fitness, team skills, ability to compete, leadership)
 Interviews (team skills, character, knowledge on others)
 Team Building exercises (team skills, leadership, character, problem
solving)
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
17
RECOMMENDED READING
• Scout's Honor: The Bravest Way to Build a Winning Team
Author – Bill Shanks
In this fascinating and insightful look into what criteria major and minor league baseball scouts use to
determine talent, Scout’s Honor shines a bright light on the job done by ‘old-school’ scouts and their killer
instincts. The author uses the success of the Atlanta Braves as the focal point for a mesmerizing investigation
into the debate of stats versus scouts, and why, if it’s a successful franchise you’re after, there is no debate
about the bravest way to build a winning team.
• Built to Win: Inside Stories and Leadership Strategies from Baseball's Winningest GM
Author – John Shuerholz
He lost two Cy Young winners in two years, signed a 47-year-old to be his starting first baseman, played
17 rookies in 2005, and still took his team to the playoffs. Baseball is John Schuerholz's world-everyone is just playing in it. Now, in BUILT TO WIN, the legendary manager takes readers behind the
scenes of the most successful franchise in recent history--and shows how his unique philosophies and
leadership have helped the Atlanta Braves achieve something no team has ever come close to
accomplishing. He candidly peels back the curtain, from his first World Series with the Kansas City
Royals to his departure for the struggling Braves. No sooner did Schuerholz arrive than they won their
first title in 1991...and the rest is history.
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
18
RECOMMENDED READING
• Patriot Reign: Bill Belichick, the Coaches, and the Players Who Built a Champion
Author – Michael Holley
With unprecedented access granted by Belichick and his staff, author Michael Holley spent two years with the
coach, his team, and his brain trust. Holley provides insights into how Belichick and his coaching cabinet
prepare for opponents, evaluate talent, run the draft, and design their offensive and defensive schemes. Patriot
Reign captures Belichick at his most candid, and what emerges is a portrait of a complicated man who is
cerebral, yes, but also tough, demanding, stubborn, funny, profane, and a master strategist.
• War Room: The Legacy of Bill Belichick and the Art of Building the Perfect Team
Author – Michael Holley
Bill Belichick is one of the titans of today’s game of football. Now, sports commentator and bestselling
author Michael Holley follows three NFL teams—the New England Patriots, Kansas City Chiefs, and
Atlanta Falcons—from training camp 2010 through the Super Bowl and into the April draft, opening a
new window into Belichick’s influence on the game. This one-of-a-kind exploration takes football fans
behind the scenes of the most popular sport in America, with unprecedented insider access to the head
coaches, scouts, trainers, and players who make the game what it is—including new insights from Bill
Parcells, Todd and Dick Haley, and Belichick himself. For true fans of the game, and for readers of
Badasses, Patriot Reign, and Boys Will Be Boys, Holley’s War Room is not to be missed.
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
19
RECOMMENDED READING
• Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game
• Author – Michael Lewis
Moneyball is a quest for the secret of success in baseball. Following the low-budget Oakland Athletics, their
larger-than-life general manger, Billy Beane, and the strange brotherhood of amateur baseball enthusiasts,
Michael Lewis has written not only "the single most influential baseball book ever" (Rob Neyer, Slate) but
also what "may be the best book ever written on business" (Weekly Standard).
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
20
HEO - High Performance 1 (What is the Next Level Looking for and Player Evaluation and Selection)
21