Google Search Network

Transcription

Google Search Network
Digital Workshop
7th April, 2011
Shaden Mohamed
Senior Account Manager
[email protected]
Hany Abdelkawi
Account Strategist
[email protected]
Agenda
Introduction to the Digital Landscape
Google Advertising Networks
Structure of a Digital Agency
The Media Buying Ecosystem
Google Confidential and Proprietary
What is Google all about?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
•3
Google's Mission
To organize the world‟s information and make it
universally accessible and useful.
Offline Content
Billions of items becoming indexed
Online Content
Billions of web pages
Google Confidential and Proprietary
•4
One search box
for all questions…
Web
results
Video results
(Steve’s famous Stanford
commencement speech)
News results
(Articles about
Steve and Apple)
News archives
Pics
5
Google is not only about search
Video
Blogger
Gmail
Scholar
Google Earth
Local
Picasa
Groups
Orkut
Desktop Search
Maps
SMS
6
Internet is Changing the World
Google Confidential and Proprietary
7
Information
10 Years Ago
Libraries, morning paper
Now
3 Billion
searches per day
Over 20M Searches per day
8
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Communication
10 years ago
Fax, post, landlines
Now
220 Billion
non-spam emails
& IM‟s sent
per day
Over 500M emails / IMs per day
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Entertainment
10 years ago
TV, VHS, walkmans
Every 24 Hours
1B Youtube
Playbacks
Over 20M Videos watched per day
10
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Commerce
10 years ago
Local shops, catalogues
Now
85% of
Internet Users
have bought
something online
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Community
10 years ago
Social clubs, penpals
Now
550 million
active users
on Facebook
12
+7M unique visitors on Facebook
+ 1M unique visitors on Twitter
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Hours online / month
Growth in online usage
Entertainment
1 1.5
eCommerce
2
Information
2007
2012
11
16
32
2
Community
Communication
13
0.5
2003
2.25
6.5
7
2.5
4.5
4
6
5
6
7.5
Media is getting Social
Shared
Viewing
Conversation
Content
Shaping
“There is so much media now
with the Internet and people, and
so easy and so cheap to start a
newspaper or start a magazine,
there‟s just millions of voices and
people want to be heard”
Rupert Murdoch
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Internet is becoming the leading Media in USA
18 to 40 Years Old
Older than 40
Newspaper
s
Magazines
4%
Magazines
7%
3%
Games
6%
Internet
25%
Cinema
11%
Games
2%
Cinema
8%
TV
36%
Internet
11%
Radio
14%
TV
22%
Mobile
15%
Radio
12%
Mobile
12%
Newspaper
s
12%
Source: Forrester Research
Google Confidential and Proprietary
15
Internet in Egypt
User Behaviour & Interests
Neilsen Research Dec, 2010
Google Confidential and Proprietary
16
From 4.8m to 20m users online in 6 yrs
20.0
Source: MCIT
Google Confidential and Proprietary
17
Duration of usage (Minutes per day)
• Over 3 hours spent daily on watching TV and 2.5 hours on internet on desktop / laptop.
• Those using internet on mobile spend over an hour everyday.
189
165
87
73
54
Watch TV (not
online)
Access
Internet on
desktop /
laptop
Listen to Radio
(not online)
Access
internet on
Mobile
handset
Use Mobile
(Texting & call
only)
36
33
Read
New spaper
(not online)
Read
Magazines
(not online)
Question: On a typical day approximately how many minutes do you _________?
Base: All users of respective media (random only)
Confidential & Proprietary
Copyright © 2010 The Nielsen Company
Page 18
Internet usership
• Youngsters remain the drivers of internet usage
• Usage higher amongst males.
Use internet
No
61%
Yes
39%
Yes
44
No
52
53
67
79
56
48
47
33
15 - 24 Yrs
Base: All Random (1522)
Confidential & Proprietary
71
89
25 - 34 Yrs
35 - 44 Yrs
21
45 - 54 yrs
29
11
55 or more
Copyright © 2010 The Nielsen Company
Page 19
Males
Females
Internet enabled mobile
• Internet enabled phones prevalent largely
amongst younger age groups and males.
Internet enabled mobile
DK/CS
4%
Yes
41%
No
55%
Yes
4
4
47
47
49
15 - 24 Yrs
49
25 - 34 Yrs
No
5
3
59
69
36
35 - 44 Yrs
DK/CS
6
4
51
5
60
76
45
28
36
18
45 - 54 yrs
55 or m ore
Question: Does the mobile handset have
the option of accessing the internet?
Base: All mobile users – Random only (1375)
Confidential & Proprietary
Copyright © 2010 The Nielsen Company
Page 20
Males
Fem ales
Legacy of usage
Internet usage history
1 - 2 Yrs
29%
•Just over one third of the internet users have been
using internet for over 3 years.
< 1 Year
9%
> 5 Years
17%
2 - 3 Yrs
24%
3 - 5 Yrs
21%
> 5 years
3 – 5 years
2 – 3 years
7
9
10
10
32
25
26
29
23
26
24
20
21
23
13
15 - 24 Yrs
24
25 - 34 Yrs
1 – 2 years
16
7
< 1 Year
11
25
33
26
23
23
28
22
19
15
20
20
35 - 44 Yrs
45 - 54 yrs
19
19
9
55 or m ore
Question: Roughly for how long have you
been using Internet?
Base: All internet users – Random + Booster (855)
Confidential & Proprietary
Copyright © 2010 The Nielsen Company
Page 21
21
Males
12
Fem ales
Place of access
Hom e
83
Cyber café
19
Friend's / Fam ily
m em ber's house
13
Office
On the go via m obile
6
4
Public places (Cafe's etc)
1
College / School
1
On the go via laptop
1
Work / Working Location
1
• Most people access internet from home.
• Internet access from Home, office and cyber
café happens mostly through a wired
connection.
• Internet through mobile used on the go or at
friends’ / family’s place.
Question: Which of the following places do you currently
access the internet from?
Base: All internet users – Random + Booster (855)
Confidential & Proprietary
Copyright © 2010 The Nielsen Company
Page 22
Search Language
• Arabic is the language of
choice and most widely used
for online search.
Search language used
Arabic
21
20
24
25
79
80
75
75
Total
English
12
13
88
15 - 24 Yrs 25 - 34 Yrs 35 - 44 Yrs 45 - 54 yrs
22
20
87
78
80
> 55 Yrs
Males
Fem ales
Question: Typically when you use search engine, in which
language do you most often search?
Base: Ever used search engine – Random + Booster (692)
Confidential & Proprietary
Copyright © 2010 The Nielsen Company
Page 23
In Summary
•
Internet usage is extremely high amongst the young
•
Most popular activities are Searching, consuming content &
communicating
•
There are advertisers who want to reach the internet audience (both
domestically and abroad)
Fill this need by becoming a Qualified Digital Agency
and Partner with Google
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Agenda
Introduction to the Digital Landscape
Google Advertising Networks
Structure of a Digital Agency
The Media Buying Ecosystem
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google is in the “Connections Business”
Connect consumers
to ALL the information
they care about
Connect marketers
to ALL the customers
they care about
26
Connections Powered By Google
1. Search Network
2. Display Network
3. Web Utilities
Connect with
Consumers
When They
Search
Connect with
Consumers
When They
Research and
Pursue Passions
Connect with
Consumers
When They Go
Beyond Sites
with Google’s
Search Solutions
with Google’s
Display Network
with Google’s
Web Utilities
Agenda
Google Digital Session
1
Introduction to Google
2
Google Search Network
3
Google Display Network (GDN)
4
Google Maps & Mobile Ads
5
Digital Assets
6
Tracking Performance
Connections Powered By Google
1. Search Network
2. Display Network
3. Web Utilities
Connect with
Consumers
When They
Search
Connect with
Consumers
When They
Research and
Pursue Passions
Connect with
Consumers
When They Go
Beyond Sites
with Google’s
Search Solutions
with Google’s
Display Network
with Google’s
Web Utilities
Connections Powered By Google
1. Google‟s Search Network
Connect with
Consumers
When They
Search Online
with Google’s
Search Solutions
• #1 Search Engine in Egypt
• Millions of unique users with 95% Search
penetration
• Over 3B page views per day globally
Google Search… and Ads
new cars
Online consumers use keywords (also known as “Queries”) to
search for information
31
Google Search… and Ads
32
Google Search… and Ads
0–3
Sponsored Ads
Cost Per Click (CPC)
8
33
Google Search… and Ads
Natural Results
(unpaid)
34
Search Partners
The Search Network also includes hundreds of partner websites
Google Ad Auction
Google Confidential and Proprietary
•36
Bidding Definitions
Maximum CPCs: You set the maximum
price/bid you are willing to pay per click
Actual CPC: Determined by auction for each
keyword. It will never exceed your Max. CPC
bid
Maximum Daily Budget: Controls how
many clicks you will receive each day
The Google Ad Auction
Ad Rank is determined by an auction
of the ad‟s relevance and the amount
advertisers are willing to pay
MAX
CPC
X
Quality
Score
How are the Ad Positions Determined?
Sponsored Links
MAX
CPC
X
Get Baseball Equipment Here
Great prices on a full line of Products
Always available at great prices!
www.grandslamoutlet.com
Quality
Score
Baseball Express
Baseball gloves & mitts all brands.
Rawlings, Wilson, TPX, Mizuno
www.baseballexpress.com
$2.00 x 1% = 2
$1.00 x 4% = 4
Baseball Express
Baseball gloves & mitts all brands.
Rawlings, Wilson, TPX, Mizuno
www.baseballexpress.com
Get Baseball Equipment Here
Great prices on a full line of Products
Always available at great prices!
www.grandslamoutlet.com
Gloveslingers.com
Professional baseball equipment
For the Serious Baseball Enthusiast
www.gloveslingers.com
Glovesmith Elite series
For the serious player
Are you serious?
www.glovesmith.com
Direct Sports
Baseball & Softball Equipment
Worth, DeMarini, Easton, TPX, Nike
www.directsports.com
Glovemania Gloves
Akadema Baseball Gloves
at Great Prices
glovemania.com
Quality Baseball Gloves
Low prices on pro quality gloves
from Rawlings, Mizuno. Fast ship.
baseballwarehouse.com
5
Ad Relevancy Reward
To boost position/rank:
• raise CPCs
CPC
x
QS
CPC
x
QS
OR
• improve quality score
The latter is better because
improving relevancy
can save money!
Quality Score and Ad Ranking
The Auction Rewards Relevant and Targeted Ads by
Relying on a Quality Score
CTR (click through rate):
How many searchers are clicking on your ad?
Ad Text Relevance:
How Relevant is your ad to the actual search keyword?
Quality
Score
Historical Keyword Performance:
How has this keyword performed in the past?
Other Relevancy Factors
Landing page quality – load time? User friendly? Relevant?
Agenda
Google Digital Session
1
Introduction to Google
2
Google Search Network
3
Google Display Network (GDN)
4
Google Maps & Mobile Ads
5
Digital Assets
6
Tracking Performance
Connections Powered By Google
1. Search Network
2. Display Network
3. Web Utilities
Connect with
Consumers
When They
Search
Connect with
Consumers
When They
Research and
Pursue Passions
Connect with
Consumers
When They Go
Beyond Sites
with Google’s
Search Solutions
with Google’s
Display Network
with Google’s
Web Utilities
Google Display Network
The Largest Global Advertising Network
• #1 Advertising Network
• 457 Billion page views / month
Google content partners combined
• 73%
Reach Globally
content partners combined world wide
• 908 Million unique global visitors / month
all Google content partners combined
•Source: ComScore custom research May 2010
Engage Consumers: What They Like
Reach millions of users as they pursue their interests
online
Fine Dining sites
Find top 5
Seafood
restaurants
in Cairo
Fashion sites
Shop online
for summer
sandals
Automotive Sites
Personal Travel Sites
Read up on
auto tips &
hints
Find hotel
near Dahab
Choose Your Targeting
Where They Are
Where They Have Been
Contextual Targeting
By Keywords | By Categories
Interest-Category
Marketing
Placement Targeting
Re-Marketing
Your Message
The most robust targeting of any network
Add Demographic, Geographic, Time
Exclude sites, keywords, categories
Google Confidential and Proprietary
46
Placement Targeting – Premium Sites
Mass Media
47
Placement Targeting – Niche Sites
Niche Media
48
Placement Targeting – Niche Sites
Consumers spend 77% of their
time online on niche sites
Niche Media
49
The Value of Niche…
Users interact with more ads, more often on niche sites
2x more consumers look at
ads on niche sites than on portals
4x more time spent interacting
with ads on niche sites than on
portals
Source: AdRelevance Q1-Q4 2006 “Internet Ad Spend Is Display Only,” comScore Media Matrix, November 2005
Google Confidential and Proprietary
50
Example of Placement Targeting
New York
Times
Google Confidential and Proprietary
51
Choose Your Targeting
Where They Are
Where They Have Been
Contextual Targeting
By Keywords | By Categories
Interest-Category
Marketing
Placement Targeting
Re-Marketing
Your Message
The most robust targeting of any network
Add Demographic, Geographic, Time
Exclude sites, keywords, categories
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Confidential and Proprietary
52
Contextual Targeting (Automatic Matching)
This is when you let the Google system automatically match your Ads with relevant web pages
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Example of Contextual Ad
Reaches millions of users as they read content online
Google scans a page,
interprets its content and
serves relevant ads
Relevant ads
Targeted in real-time
Recipe for Roasted
Garlic Pasta Sauce
Google Confidential and Proprietary
54
Not Your Average Targeting Technology
Page Analysis
1
2
Scan the page
Analyze the page
Machine learning technology turns
keywords into targetable concepts
and categories
Keywords
roses, planting, gardening, pruning, buds
Concepts
Rose Gardening, Shrub Pruning
Categories
Home & Garden
Google Confidential and Proprietary
55
Not Your Average Targeting Technology
Ad Analysis
Advertiser’s Ad Group
Text Ads
Rose Gardening Best Seller
Rose gardening information
for novices and experts alike
www.WhereTheRoseGrows.com
rose gardening; gardening book, growing roses; rose planting…
Keywords
-rose delivery; -rose bowl; -charlie rose; -rose theatre…
Negative Keywords
Geo Targets
Language Targets
Ad Schedule
English
Start January 2008; End May 2008; All days of week; All dayparts
Google Confidential and Proprietary
56
Not Your Average Targeting Technology
Ad Group 3
Text Ads
Keywords
Negative Keywords
Geo Targets
Language Targets
Ad Schedule
Ad Group 6
Text Ads
Keywords
Negative Keywords
Geo Targets
Language Targets
Ad Schedule
Text Ads
Keywords
Negative Keywords
Geo Targets
Language Targets
Ad Schedule
Text Ads
Keywords
Negative Keywords
Geo Targets
Language Targets
Ad Schedule
Ad Group 9
Ad Group 2
Text Ads
Keywords
Negative Keywords
Geo Targets
Language Targets
Ad Schedule
Ad Group 5
Ad Group 4
Text Ads
Keywords
Negative Keywords
Geo Targets
Language Targets
Ad Schedule
Text Ads
Keywords
Negative Keywords
Geo Targets
Language Targets
Ad Schedule
Ad Group 8
Ad Group 1
Text Ads
Keywords
Negative Keywords
Geo Targets
Language Targets
Ad Schedule
Ad Group 7
Ad Matching
Text Ads
Keywords
Negative Keywords
Geo Targets
Language Targets
Ad Schedule
Google Confidential and Proprietary
57
Choose Your Targeting
Where They Are
Where They Have Been
Contextual Targeting
By Keywords | By Categories
Interest-Category
Marketing
Placement Targeting
Re-Marketing
Your Message
The most robust targeting of any network
Add Demographic, Geographic, Time
Exclude sites, keywords, categories
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Confidential and Proprietary
58
Interest Category Marketing
Perform
at Scale
Reach users based on their interests
The Google way for
more relevant ads:
User reads
a lot about…
Beauty
Home & Garden
Parenting
She’ll see related
ads, wherever she
is on the web…
Beauty
Home & Garden
• User interest
categories are formed
using the technology
behind our powerful
contextual targeting.
• Users can define
and refine their
interests.
Parenting
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Choose Your Targeting
Where They Are
Contextual Targeting
Where They Have Been
By Keywords | By Categories
Interest-Category
Marketing
Placement Targeting
Re-Marketing
Your Message
The most robust targeting of any network
Add Demographic, Geographic, Time
Exclude sites, keywords, categories
60
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Remarketing
Efficient
reach
Perform
at Scale
Serve ads on the Google Content
Network to users who previously
visited your web site.
Users who have visited your web site
“The number one
issue that anyone
[doing this type of
marketing] needs
to address is
scale.”
Alan Chapell, President of
Chapell & Associates
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Ad Formats on GDN
Image Ads
• Static
• Animated
• Click To Play Video
• Rich Media
Ad Formats on GDN
Image Ads
• Static
• Animated
• Click To Play Video
• Rich Media
Text Ads
8 x Image Ad Sizes
•# 1# 1
#2
1. Leaderboard: 728 x 90
2. Banner: 468 x 60
3. Skyscraper: 120 x 600
4. Wide Skyscraper: 160 x 600
5. Medium Rectangle: 300 x 250
6. Square: 250 x 250
7. Small Square: 200 x 200
8. Large Rectangle: 336 x 280
#5
*Please note that images are not shown to scale
#3
#4
CPC vs CPM Pricing Models
CPM Model
•Content
Targeting
• Cost per thousand
impressions
• Only your Maximum
bid is considered
• Access to Reach &
Frequency reporting
• Available on GDN
CPC Model
• Cost per click
• Maximum bid & CTR
are considered
• Reach & Frequency
reporting not available
• Available on Search
& GDN
Search + Display = Increased Conversions
Search and Display ads, used in combination, increase
conversion rates relative to display ads alone
Display Ads
+
Search Ads
=
+300%
Lift in
conversion rate
relative to display only
Source: Atlas Institute, July 2006
Display Performance
+268% Traffic
+355% Engagement
Lift in unique users visiting
advertiser website versus those
who didn’t see a display ad
Increase in pages viewed per
unique visitor versus those
who didn’t see a display ad
Source: comScore online panel; Overall pool of studies: 67 studies
Google Confidential and Proprietary
67
Agenda
Google Digital Session
1
Introduction to Google
2
Google Search Network
3
Google Display Network (GDN)
4
Google Maps & Mobile Ads
5
Digital Assets
6
Tracking Performance
Reaching Customers Online
Reach customers via three advertising touch points/networks:
Connect with
Consumers
When They
Search
Connect with
Consumers
When They
Pursue Interests
Connect with
Consumers
When They Go
Beyond Sites
with Google’s
with Google’s
with Google’s
Search Solutions
Content Network
Web Utilities
Google Confidential and Proprietary
•69
List your Business on Google Maps
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Click to Call for Mobile Content & Apps
New ad format on mobile content and apps that allows users to click to call
and connect directly with the advertised business.
Mobile Content
Mobile Apps
Clicking on the phone icon brings up
the dialer with your business phone
number
Clicking on the ad text takes
user to your website
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Agenda
Google Digital Session
1
Introduction to Google
2
Google Search Network
3
Google Display Network (GDN)
4
Google Maps & Mobile Ads
5
Digital Assets
6
Tracking Performance
Your Website is the Core
A visitor to your landing page decides whether or not to stay
within 8 seconds. *
As many as 50% of users bail after just a glance.*
Users are asking themselves:
“Am I in the right place?”
“Does this place match what I was hoping to see?
“Should I bother reading or click away immediately?”
*According to MarketingSherpa’s Landing Page Handbook: How to Increase Conversions, February 05.
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Types of Digital Assets:
Corporate Website
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Types of Digital Assets:
Facebook Fan Page
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Types of Digital Assets:
Twitter Page
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Types of Digital Assets:
YouTube Channel
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Promote & Engage
Promote
Google Search
Google Display Network
Capture consumers
throughout the decision
cycle & drive them to
your Digital Assets
Engage
Engage users with
your digital assets
& generate interest in
your Brand
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Promote & Engage
Promote
Google Search
Google Display Network
Capture consumers
throughout the decision
cycle & drive them to
your Digital Assets
Engage
Engage users with
your digital assets
& generate interest in
your Brand
All pages should
link to one another
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Example: Promoting your Twitter Page
Google Confidential and Proprietary
By Converting your Twitter Feed into Ads
twitter.com/chevrolet
Twitter feed
twitter.com/chevrolet
Twitter ad
Example: 300x250
Google Confidential and Proprietary
81
And Placing these Ads across the GDN
twitter.com/chevrolet
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Agenda
Google Digital Session
1
Introduction to Google
2
Google Search Network
3
Google Display Network (GDN)
4
Google Maps & Mobile Ads
5
Digital Assets
6
Tracking Performance
Track Your Website Performance
Google Analytics is a free, hosted web analytics tool that helps you track
and improve your website, while helping to increase marketing ROI
•Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Confidential and Proprietary
•2
Measure your Online Activity…
Track e-commerce metrics, such as
revenue, average order value,
and conversion rates
Is my website design
driving
people away?
Which marketing initiatives
are the most effective?
Where are my visitors
coming from?
What do people do while
on my site?
How can I make my
marketing campaigns more
effective & accountable?
Quick to set up, easy
to use, and it‟s free!
Google Confidential and Proprietary
From all Marketing Sources
Banner Advertising
Email Marketing
Referrals &
Affiliate Programs
Search Marketing
SEO
Effect of Offline
Campaigns, Online
Determine which marketing initiatives are driving the best results
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google AdWords Reaches Global Markets
People use
Google in over 100
languages
The Google Network combined
reaches more than 76% of
worldwide Internet users
Sources: Measured by Media Metrix and NetRatings (September 2004); “2005 Web Globalization Report Card,” Byte Level
Research (November 2004)
Google Confidential and Proprietary
87
Agenda
Introduction to the Digital Landscape
Google Advertising Networks
Structure of a Digital Agency
The Media Buying Ecosystem
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Organisation Structure
• Digital Asset / Web Design
• Flash/Creative Designers
• Content Writers & Editors
• SEO services
• Database / Analytics
Management
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Organisation Structure
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Organisation Structure
• Sales & Planning
• Project Management
• Marketing (internal/external)
• Events
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Organisation Structure
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Organisation Structure
• Digital Strategy & Consulting
• SEM services
• Specialist Services (emarketing, social media,
mobile)
• Account Management
• Analysis & Research
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Organisation Structure
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Example Client/Agency Process
Understanding of
Successes / Failures
for next Campaign
Meet with Client &
Receive Client Brief
Develop Digital
Communication Strategy
Post campaign review
Gather pricing for Media
(Google, etc)
Monitor active campaigns,
including invoicing
Get sign off on plans &
notify Media partners
Finish final client
presentation
Final client „reveal‟
Implement revisions
Chase client for
feedback
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Agenda
Introduction to the Digital Landscape
Google Advertising Networks
Structure of a Digital Agency
The Media Buying Ecosystem
Google Confidential and Proprietary
How everything began...
Advertising Agency
Account
Mgmt
Media
Planning /
Buying
Production
Agency
Strategy
Research
Creative
Google Confidential and Proprietary
97
Agency landscape today
Events
Agency
Digital
Agency
Media
Agency
Strategy
Creative
Agency
Media
Planning
Media
Buying
SEM
Display
Research
Specialist
Outdoor
Agency
Full
Service
Digital
Agency
Creative /
Web
Design
Digital
Planning
PR
Agency
Strategy
Buying
Agency
Digital
Buying
Display
SEM
Planning
Agency
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Agency landscape today
Agency Network A
Agency Network B
Events
Agency
Digital
Agency
Media
Agency
Strategy
Creative
Agency
Media
Planning
Media
Buying
SEM
Display
Research
Specialist
Outdoor
Agency
Full
Service
Digital
Agency
Creative /
Web
Design
Digital
Planning
PR
Agency
Strategy
Buying
Agency
Digital
Buying
Display
SEM
Planning
Agency
Google Confidential and Proprietary
The Big 6: Global networks and their agencies
Note: Agencies shown are just a representative selection
Google Confidential and Proprietary
100
The Big 6: Global networks and their agencies
Google Confidential and Proprietary
101
Agency Commission Model
Traditional 15% commission system
Dell appoints
Mediacom to run their
search campaigns
Mediacom invoices
Dell $100,000
Mediacom spends $100,000
gross on behalf of Dell on
MSN during January
MSN invoices Mediacom
$85,000 (-15%) net for Dell’s
activity
Google Confidential and Proprietary
102
The evolving agency commission model
Agency
Commission
FeeBased/Retainer
Performancebased
Many agencies
started to give a
percentage of their
15% agency
commission back
to the client.
Varies greatly
depending on scale
of spend.
All agency
commission is
returned to the client
and remuneration is
based solely upon
specified
performance metrics
The portion of the
15% commission
that the agency
actually keeps
ranges from
0 -15%
Usually based upon
costing out
provision of
resource &
overheads + profit
increment
Hybrid
A combination of
any of the three
standard mechanics
e.g. commission +
fee, fee + bounty
per sale achieved
e.g. click volume
targets, sales
achieved
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Advertising Program (GAP)
Becoming a Qualified Partner
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Advertising Professionals (GAP)
What is it? GAP is a programme that will help you to gain in-depth AdWords knowledge and
expertise, and to promote and grow your business as a skilled professional.
Requirements
 Manage at least one AdWords account in your MCC for a minimum
of 90 days.
 Build and Maintain a total expenditure of at least $1,000 (to
become Qualified Individual) or $100 000 (to become Qualified
Company) for your MCC account during the 90 day period.
• Participation in the programme: FREE
• All tools and tranings: FREE
• The exam cost: $50
 Pass the Google Advertising Professionals (GAP) exam.
 Note: to become Qualified Company, you must employ 2 Qualified
Individuals *.
Benefits
 Logo and GAP certification
upon certification you will receive the official logo (Individual or
Company) that you can use on the website and your marketing
materials.
 Promotional credits
you can receive up to 60 credits that you can apply to new customer
accounts to help bring in new business.
 Complete Online Training
online training modules will help you learn everything about
AdWords features, functions and resources.
* To get started visit: https://adwords.google.com/select/professionalwelcome or contact your AdWords Manager.
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Education Resources
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Knowledge Resources to bookmark
Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.”
AdWords related:
Google related:
1.
AdWords Blogs:
 Google Country Blog

Inside AdWords
- news & tips from AdWords
 Google Analytics Blog
AdWords Agency Blog
- news from AdWords for agencies and
their clients
 Google YT Channel

AdWords API Blog
 Google UK Online Advertising Toolkit
2.
AdWords Webinars
Internet Marketing related:

AdWords Webinars
- led by AdWords experts, these online
webinars cover everything from
optimization basics to setting up goals &
funnels in Analytics.
 Search Engine Watch

 Inside AdSense Blog
 Webmaster Resources
 Search Engine Land
 eMarketer
3.
AdWords Learning Centers

AdWords Learning Center
- preparation center for GAP exam
iGoogle page

AdWords Help Center
RSS Reader (e.g. Google Reader)
Tip to manage your resource:
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Industry Resources
Stay Informed with this suggested reading:
Online / Offline Marketing:
MarketingVox, Adverblog, NYT> Media and Advertising, Seth
Godin's Blog, AdAge
Search Marketing:
Clickz, Traffick, OnlineMediaDaily, MediaPost, eMarketer,
John Batelle's Search Blog, Webmaster World
Google Stuff:
Google Weblog, The Unofficial Google Australian Blog,
Search Engine Lowdown, Google Blogoscoped
For an easy way to manage your RSS feeds – check out: Reader.google.com
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Shaden Mohamed
Senior Account Manager
Middle East & North Africa
[email protected]
+2 0100 629 795
Hany Abdelkawi
Account Strategist
Middle East & North Africa
[email protected]