Monthly Highlights

Transcription

Monthly Highlights
THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSELLER'S
Australian
Independent
Bookseller
MONTHLY HIGHLIGHTS JUNE
All the best books from your local independent bookstore
FICTION
The Truth
According to Us
Annie Barrows
Paperback
RRP $ 32.99
Annie Barrows,
co-author of
the bestseller
The Guernsey
Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society,
evokes the charm and eccentricity of
a small town filled with extraordinary
characters. Quirky and loveable, this
novel of small-town life in the 1930s is
an immersive experience that will leave
readers reeling and wanting more.
A Year of
Marvellous
Ways
Charlie
Anderson’s
General Theory
of Lying
Sarah Winman
Paperback
RRP $ 29.99
Late June release,
advance orders
welcome.
A Year of Marvellous Ways is a
glorious, life-affirming story about the
magic in everyday life, the pull of the
sea, the healing powers of storytelling
and how we carry on when grief
comes snapping at our heels. From
the author of international bestseller
When God Was a Rabbit.
Richard
McHugh
Paperback
RRP $ 32.99
Charlie Anderson
is sure he’s the best consultant in
town. He’s completely sure his clever
wife Anna and his happy daughters
are the centre of his world. And
there’s no question in his mind he’s a
first-class liar and seducer. But what
happens when he meets someone
who can outplay him?
NON-FICTION
Altruism
Musings
From the
Inner Duck
Matthieu
Ricard
Paperback
RRP $ 32.99
Supermarket
Monsters
Malcolm Knox
Paperback
RRP $19.99
Michael
Leunig
In his previous
book, Happiness,
Matthieu Ricard
demonstrated that true happiness
is not tied to fleeting moments or
sensations, but is an enduring state
of soul rooted in mindfulness and
compassion for others. Now he turns
his lens from the personal to the global,
with a rousing argument that altruism genuine concern for the well-being of
others - could be the saving grace of
the 21st century.
Paperback RRP $ 24.99
This collection of 138 cartoons tilts
towards the whimsical, the wise
and the sublimely misaligned; it’s
less heavily political than previous
collections, although the political
system cops a serve here and there.
Mr Curly features often. In a nutshell:
all the questions (and some very
funny answers) that can be put about
human existence.
Journalist and
author Malcolm
Knox shines a light
on Australia’s twin
mega-retailers, Coles and Woolworths.
Knox reveals the unavoidable and often
intimidating tactics both companies
use to get their way. In return for
cheap milk and bread, he argues, we
as consumers are risking much more:
quality, diversity and community.
CHILDREN’S & YA
Paper Towns,
Film Tie-In
John Green
Paperback
RRP $19.99
Quentin ‘Q’
Jacobsen is
eighteen and has
always loved the
edgy Margo Roth Spiegelman. Then
she vanishes. After an epic drive
through the night, Q learns first-hand
that the way you think about a person
isn’t the way they actually are. 12+
Tashi: 20th
Anniversary
Edition
Coco Banjo is
having a Yay
Day
Anna and
Barbara
Fienberg &
Kim Gamble
(Illus)
N.J. Gemmell
Paperback
RRP $14.99
Hardback RRP $12.99
Tashi’s adventures have been loved by
children all over the world for twenty
years! This special hardback edition
of the original Tashi book celebrates
Tashi’s anniversary, and includes a
new Tashi story. 5+
BOOK OF
THE MONTH
A cheeky new
series destined for
stardom, from the
bestselling author of The Kensington
Reptilarium. Today Coco’s planning
a Yay Day of fun on her secret
island home in the middle of Sydney
Harbour. But wait... what’s that
Secret Signal? 7+
Forever Young
Steven Carroll
Paperback
RRP $ 29.99
Forever Young is set
against the tumultuous
period of change and
uncertainty that was
Australia in 1977.
Whitlam is about to
lose the election, and
things will never be the
same again. A subtle and graceful exploration
of the passage of time and our yearning for the
seeming simplicities of the past, Forever Young
is a powerfully moving work – clear, beautiful,
affecting - by one of our greatest authors.
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Steven Carroll is the author
of The Art of the Engine
Driver and The Gift of Speed
both shortlisted for the Miles
Franklin Award. In 2008
The Time We Have Taken won
the Commonwealth Writers Prize
for Best Book, South-East Asia and
South Pacific region as well as the 2008 Miles
Franklin Award, Australia’s most prestigious
literary prize.
OUR T P 20
1
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
2
The Mindfulness Colouring Book by Emma Farrarons
3
A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
4
The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George
5
The Strays by Emily Bitto
6
One Life: My Mother’s Story by Kate Grenville
7
The Green Road by Anne Enright
8
H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald
9
The Children Act by Ian McEwan
10 An Enchanted Forest by Johanna Basford
11 Yes! No (Maybe...): Tom Gates by Liz Pichon
12 We are All Completely Beside Ourselves
by Karen Joy Fowler
13 The Brain’s Way of Healing by Norman Doidge
14 Pig the Fibber by Aaron Blabey
15 On the Move: A Life by Oliver Sacks
16 Falling in Love: (Brunetti 24): Brunetti by Donna Leon
17 The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
18 The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan
19 The Wonder Lover by Malcolm Knox
20 Quicksand by Steve Toltz
Source: Nielsen BookScan
THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSELLER'S
MONTHLY HIGHLIGHTS JUNE
GREAT READS
NEW WEIRDO
FROM HACHETTE
FROM SCHOLASTIC
Girl At War
Sara Novic
Paperback RRP $ 29.99
Super Weird:
weirdo Book 4
When civil war breaks out
across Yugoslavia, the brutal
ethnic cleansing of Croats and
Bosnians tragically changes
10-year-old Ana’s life and a
daring escape plan to America becomes her only
chance for survival. Ten years later she returns to
Croatia, a young woman forced to confront the
trauma of her past and rediscover the place that
was once her home.
Anh Do
Paperback
RRP $14.99
Weir’s back and SUPER weird! And guess
what? FiDo the sausage dog is SUPER weird
too. Perfect! Dad’s training to become a
firefighter, while Weir’s busy with Pet Day!
Will FiDo and Blockhead freeze-up or find
fame? It won’t be easy... but it will be funny!
Church of Marvels
Leslie Parry
Paperback RRP $ 29.99
A ravishing novel set in the
vibrant, tumultuous underworld
of late-19th-century New
York, about four young
outsiders whose lives become
entwined over the course of one fateful night. This
compulsively readable debut is perfect for fans of
Sarah Waters and Michel Faber.
WINNER TO BE ANNOUNCED ON 23 JUNE 2015
ADULT
COLOURING BOOKS
FROM HARDIE GRANT BOOKS
Hardbacks RRP $19.95 each
Paperbacks RRP $16.95 each
All the best books from your local independent bookstore
Australian
Independent
Bookseller
Visit your local bookstore for a great range of books, personalised service and expert advice.
Prices listed in this flyer as RRP refer to the publisher’s recommended retail prices. These may be subject to change without notice by publishers. Some titles may be out of stock but in most cases can easily be ordered in at your request.

Similar documents