Chiang Kai Shek Alumni Team : 15th CSC Cup



Chiang Kai Shek Alumni Team : 15th CSC Cup
Chiang Kai Shek Alumni Team : 15th CSC Cup Champions
Chiang Kai Shek Alumni Team came from behind to snatch the championship trophy from the
hands of Xavier Alumni Team, 70-68 in the 15th Chiang San Ching Memorial Cup of Kiao Ching
Athletic Association (KCAA) at SGS Stadium in G. Araneta Avenue, Quezon City.
Trailing 24-38 at the halftime break, Coach Calvin Li’s Blue Dragons slowly but surely crawled
back through the effort of tournament Most Valuable Player John Kevin Baytan who scored 7 of
his game-high 16 points in the 3rd quarter. Baytan, recently named Finals MVP in the Metro
Manila Tiong Lian Basketball League, collaborated with Ralph Lim and Paul Aduana to bring
CKSC back to the game, 54-46 entering the final quarter of play.
Breaks were also with the Blue Dragons during the curial stages of the game when UP Maroon
Guard Jett Manuel missed jump shots he usually makes and Mapua Cardinal Forward Gab
Banal couldn’t convert from the charity line.
Derrick Go and Aduana finished with 13 points apiece to support Baytan. The CKSC Alumni
Team avenged their only loss in the tournament, a 79-58 blow-out defeat at the hands of Xavier
during the opening day of the tournament.
Xavier was paced by Banal with 15 points, 13 rebounds and Manuel with 11 points, 11
rebounds. Jerald Sze also scored 10 points for the Stallions of Coach Joseph Whang.
In the game for 3rd place, Jason Ligad and Kim Lo waxed hot in the first quarter to score 24 of
St. Jude’s 29 point production. Judenites’ made 6 shots from the rainbow area in the opening
Ligad finished with a tournament-high 34 points while Lo totaled 20 points, 14 boards and 6
steals for St. Jude Alumni Team who never looked back after taking the first quarter of the
Kent Lao paced the Stephenians with 17 points, 13 boards, while Brix Ong, Paolo Chan and
Clyde Aparicio combined for 31 points.
Tournament was organized in memory of KCAA founder, the late Chiang San Ching by former
KCAA players and officers.
Former KCAA player and current Little Asia Restaurant owner Charlemagne Lim was present to
award the Mythical Team Members Derrick Go and John Kevin Baytan of Chiang Kai Shek,
Jerald Sze of Xavier, Kim Kaizen Lo of St. Jude and Paolo Chan of St. Stephen. Best Coach
Trophy was awarded to Calvin Li of Chiang Kai Shek by tournament commissioner Edmundo
“Ato” Badolato.

Similar documents