New Staff Welcomed At Luncheon


New Staff Welcomed At Luncheon
During their second day of training, new instructional staff attended a welcoming luncheon sponsored by the
Newark Central School District Board of Education August 25th in the Large Group Instruction room at Newark
High School.
Superintendent Matt Cook, who took new staffers on a bus tour of the community and school district-at-large
the day before, and Andy Correia, President of the Newark Board of Education, cordially welcomed everyone.
Correia told the new staffers the Board of Education has high expectations and does its best to make sure staff has
the resources it needs to do the
“We look forward to seeing you roll up your sleeves
and getting to work this new school year,’’ he said. “Thank you for being here. Good luck!”
He introduced Newark Police Chief Dave Christler who told the new staff members the NPD is available, not just to
function in its official capacity,
but to help them in any way it can.
“Welcome to you all,” he said.
New staff attending the luncheon
• Ariel Denny, who will teach Spanish at
Newark High School
• Mallory Long, who also will teach
Spanish at NHS.
• Jen Damick, who will be a teacher
assistant at NHS.
• Lindsay LaPaglia, who will teach
chemistry at NHS.
Front row from left: Melanie Schneemann, Lindsay LaPaglia, Jen Damick, Mallory Long and Ariel Denny.
Back row from left: Stacey Brewer, Megan Barrett, Jarrad Bouchey, Toni Shama, Katelyn Catlin and Chrissy
• Melanie Schneemann, will be a special
education teacher at Newark Middle School.
• Chrissy Jacobs, who will teach social studies at
• Katelyn Catlin, who will be a special
education teacher at NMS.
• Toni Shama, who will teach physical
education at NHS.
• Jarrad Bouchey, who will teach technology at
• Megan Barrett, who will be a special
education teacher at NMS.
• Stacey Brewer, who will be teaching earth
science at NHS.
• Tiffany Cohrs, who will teach kindergarten at
Perkins School.
• Christine Seymour, who will teach eighth
grade at Kelley School.
• Kailey Ritch, who will teach special education
at Kelley School.
• Melissa VanTyle, who will be a psychologist at
Lincoln School.
• Clare Botelho, who will teach fourth grade at
Front row from left: Melissa VanTyle, Kailey Ritch, Christine Seymour and Tiffany Cohrs.
Kelley School.
Back row from left: Rebecca Hamilton, Christina Sullivan, Chelsea Darcangelis and Clare
• Chelsea Darcangelis, who will teach first grade at
Perkins School.
• Christina Sullivan, who will teach special education
at Kelley School.
• Rebeccca Hamilton, who will teach UPK at Lincoln School.
Others attending the luncheon included: Board of Education members Susie Earl, Board vice president Russ Harris and Tom
Ledbetter; Assistant Superintendent for Business Ed Gnau and Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction Krista Lewis; all
five building principals; Greg Herbst, Assistant Principal at NMS; Kim Bojara, Interim director of Pupil Services; Mike Steve, Director of
Facilities; Jay Flock, NCSD Coordinator of Student Affairs; Monica Stadler, Administrative Intern; and Bridgette Barr, NCSD Data
After the luncheon Lewis said this about the new teaching staff: I think were have a great mix of new teachers who bring with them
Inew sets of skills, new perspectives and who will be of great value to our district. They are exceptionally eager and bright.”

Similar documents