here - Hartford County Bar Association


here - Hartford County Bar Association
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
5:30 p.m. Business Meeting & Reception
6:45 p.m. Dinner
Hartford County Bar Association
100 Pearl Street, 4th Floor
Hartford, CT 06103
Phone: 860-525-8106
Fax: 860-293-1345
E-mail: [email protected]
The Society Room of Hartford
31 Pratt Street
Hartford, Connecticut
Ass oci at i on
B a r
Co unt y
Ha rt ford
2015 Annual Meeting
Notice is hereby given that the 232nd Annual Meeting of the
Members of The Hartford County Bar Association, Inc. will be
held on May 12, 2015 beginning at 5:30 P.M. at The Society
Room of Hartford for the following purposes:
The 2015 Hartford County Bar Association President's Award
for Excellence Recipient:
Austin J. McGuigan, Rome McGuigan P.C.
1. To receive and act upon the report of the Treasurer.
2. To elect Officers of the Association. The nominees
proposed by the Nominating Committee are listed below.
3. To elect eight (8) Directors of the Association. The nominees proposed by the Nominating Committee are listed below.
4. To transact any other business that may lawfully come
before said meeting.
Austin J. McGuigan is a founding member and the Chief
Executive Officer of the firm having served as the Managing Principal from 1994-2012. Mr. McGuigan has over 35
years of experience trying criminal and civil cases. As a
former Chief State's Attorney for the State of Connecticut
and the former Chief Prosecutor, Statewide Organized
Crime Task Force, he has handled a wide variety of highprofile cases. Over the years his private practice focus has expanded and he
has been primary counsel on a wide variety of civil matters and Corporate and
Government Investigations. He has experience in the defense of Intellectual
Property/Trade Secret Litigation as well as Corporate Investigations both in
Regulatory and Criminal Cases. Mr. McGuigan has tried cases in China before
the China International Arbitration Board and in Taiwan.
Attorney McGuigan serves as chairman of the firm's Litigation Department.
Pursuant to the Bylaws of the HCBA, the Nominating
Committee has reported the following slate:
The 2015 Judge Maxwell Heiman Memorial Award Recipient:
Michael D. Goldfarb, Murtha Cullina LLP
Thomas A. Gugliotti
Hon. Anne C. Dranginis
Robert E. Kaelin
Michael Menapace
Mark A. Rosenblum
Until the Annual Meeting in 2018:
Tamar Bakhbava
Marjorie J. Berger
Patrick M. Birney
Meghan Freed
Matthew P. Hallisey
Nicholas N. Ouellette
Jennifer E. Wheelock
Until the Annual meeting in 2016:
(to fill the unexpired term of
Steven B. Kaplan)
Garrett S. Flynn
The following Directors were previously elected and will
continue to serve their respective terms:
Until the Annual Meeting in
Thomas M. Armstrong
William S. Fish, Jr.
Brian O'Donnell
Until the Annual Meeting in
Kevin J. McEleney
Sharon L. Pope
Henry A. Salton
Daniel A. Schwartz
Patrick Tomasiewicz
Michael D. Goldfarb is a trial attorney at Murtha Cullina
LLP, where he represents businesses, government entities
and individuals in a broad range of complex civil litigation
matters. He has tried bench and jury trials in federal and
state court, represented clients in arbitration and mediation,
and has litigated appeals before the Second Circuit Court of
Appeals and Connecticut’s Supreme and Appellate Courts.
Michael also maintains an active election law and government investigation practice and serves as General Counsel to the Connecticut
Republican Party. Since 2011, Michael has assisted the Connecticut Veterans
Legal Center, representing veterans on a pro bono basis in a variety of legal
matters. He also devotes a substantial portion of his time to the bar, serving
as an elected member of the Connecticut Bar Association’s House of Delegates and as Co-Chair of the Hartford County Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Committee. Prior to joining Murtha Cullina, Michael was an associate in
the Los Angeles and New York offices of Latham & Watkins LLP and served
as judicial clerk to Justice Peter T. Zarella of the Connecticut Supreme Court.
The 2015 John M. Bailey Award for Public Service Recipient:
The Honorable George Jepsen,
Connecticut Attorney General
George Jepsen is the 24th Attorney General to serve Connecticut since the office was established in 1897. He took
office on Jan. 5, 2011. The Attorney General is a constitutional officer, the state’s chief legal officer and serves as
legal counsel to all state agencies. Under state statutes and
the Connecticut Constitution, the Attorney General has
authority over all civil matters and is responsible for representing the people of Connecticut and the broader public interest. Attorney
General Jepsen is a member of the National Association of Attorneys General,
where he serves as co-chairman of the Antitrust Committee. He was also a
member of the executive committee and negotiating team that resulted in a
$25 billion settlement with the nation’s five largest banks over mortgage foreclosure abuses. As Attorney General, Jepsen created a data privacy task force
to focus on data breach and privacy concerns. He has also focused on utility
Accepting this award on behalf of Attorney General Jepsen will be Senior
Counselor to the Attorney General, Justin Kronholm.
By order of the Board of Directors,
Robert E. Kaelin , Secretary
Please reserve___place(s) for the HCBA Annual
Meeting May 12, 2015.
HCBA Member* & guest **
$68 pp
Judge & guest **
$68 pp
Non Member
$88 pp
Enclosed is:
*HCBA 2015-2016 Dues Must be paid in full by or on
registration date.
**guest rate applies to non-attorney individuals not
eligible for HCBA membership
Meal Choice:
Herb Ro asted Statler Chicken Goat Cheese Sautéed Fingerling Potatoes, Grilled Asparagus, Garlic Lemon Jus
Hazelnut Dusted Cod with Asparagus Farrotto, Citrus Buerre
Eggplant Parmesan Stack Wilted Spinach Red Sauce
Registrant/s information
(please list any additional registrants on back of this
Please list any dietary needs:
Payment information
Pay by check Pay by credit card - We accept Visa,
MC, Amex
Card number::
Expiration date:
CVV code:
Name on card:
Total amount enclosed $
Please return this form with a check made
payable to HCBA and mail it to: HCBA • 100
Pearl Street,
4th floor • Hartford, CT 06103
Telephone 860-525-8106
Email: [email protected]
Pre-registration is required. Full refunds,
less $10 administrative fee, will be granted
with a 48 hour cancellation notice. No
refunds will be granted thereafter.

Similar documents