comcast names 57 leaders and achievers



comcast names 57 leaders and achievers
Avon student Allison Gruber of Vail Mountain School receives $1,000 award
DENVER, Colo. – April 17, 2015 – The Comcast Foundation today announced the 2015-16 recipients of its annual
Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program awards. This year, a total of $75,000 in scholarship funding will be
awarded to 57 high school seniors in Colorado, with 55 students receiving $1,000 each and two students each
receiving $10,000.
A full list of this year’s Colorado recipients appears below – including Avon student Allison Gruber of Vail Mountain
School, who will receive a scholarship of $1,000.
All scholarship recipients were honored at the PEBC Annual Luncheon in Denver on April 15, with Governor John
Hickenlooper on hand to recognize and congratulate the students. To date, Comcast has awarded more than $22.8
million to nearly 23,000 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners across the country, with a total of $815,000
awarded to more than 650 Colorado students.
“Each year, Comcast proudly recognizes and rewards talented students across Colorado who exemplify leadership
and are committed to academic excellence and community service,” said Rich Jennings, senior vice president of
Comcast’s Mile High region. “These outstanding students set a powerful example, and Comcast is pleased to award
scholarships that honor and encourage their accomplishments.”
The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program provides scholarships to students who strive to achieve
their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who
serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every
opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the
importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.
About the Comcast Foundation
The Comcast Foundation was founded by Comcast Corporation in June 1999 to provide charitable support to qualified
nonprofit organizations. The Foundation primarily invests in programs intended to have a positive, sustainable impact
on their communities. The Foundation has three community investment priorities—promoting community service,
expanding digital literacy, and building tomorrow’s leaders. Since its inception, the Comcast Foundation has donated
nearly $158 million to organizations in the communities nationwide that Comcast serves. More information about the
Foundation and its programs is available at
The following 57 Colorado students are recipients of the 2015-16 Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship
Program Awards:
$10,000 Scholarship Awards - 2 students
Yadap Adhikari - Aurora Central High School
Colorado Springs
Kae'Vionna Cole - Mitchell High School
$1,000 Scholarship Awards - 55 students
Robert Blair - Arvada High School
Tara Anderson - APS Options Program
Juwan Harris - Rangeview High School
Sumayia Hussain - Lotus School for Excellence
Brandon Lewien - Gateway High School
Jessica Saffold - Smoky Hill High School
Breanna Wheeler - Cherokee Trail High School
Caitlyn Lee - Fairview High School
Kevin McQuirk -New Vista High School
Kelsey Parnell - Brighton Heritage Academy
KimNgan Tat - Broomfield High School
Ashley O'Hara - Jefferson Academy High School
Colorado Springs
Frankie Padilla - Harrison High School
Jordan Pasley - Sand Creek High School
Nicholas Teo - Cheyenne Mountain High School
Commerce City
Cristal Dominguez-Vasquez - Adams City High School
Gabriela Alvarez - Global Leadership Academy
Raeven-Lynn Clockston - Career Education Center Middle College of Denver
Pascual Felix - Abraham Lincoln High School
Adriana Hilario - Mullen High School
Mykaela Johnson - Green Valley Ranch High School
Jessica Martinez - East High School
Langston Mayo - Thomas Jefferson High School
Abril Munoz - North High School
Marcus Patterson - Martin Luther King Jr. Early College High School
Yolanda Ornelas Robles - Florence Crittenton Services of Colorado
Carmelina Palmer - Denver Center for International Studies
Alexis Servantez - La Academia - Denver Inner City Parish
Lucero Murillo-Soto - Bruce Randolph High School
Colin Sullivan - Denver School of the Arts
Tabor Whitney - Battle Mountain High School
Kennede Reese - St Mary's Academy
Fort Collins
Kiri Michell - Fort Collins High School
Mohini Tangri - Ridgeview Classical School
Kyle Kolanowski - Frederick Senior High School
Bethany Vierow - Northridge High School
Greenwood Village
Ryan Beckett - Cherry Creek High School
Highlands Ranch
Ester Gilbert - Rock Canyon High School
Aveline Marshall - Peak To Peak Charter School
Adriana Gonzales-Cortez - Alameda High School
Morgan Hays - Warren Tech
Leah Shaffner - Lakewood High School
Alexandra Hoagland - Dakota Ridge Senior High School
Nathan Schultz - Littleton High School
Dylan McNally - Loveland High School
Mattea Wabeke - Thompson Valley High School
Brandon Bayer - East High School
Dakota Burns - Central High School
Kyle Espinoza - Centennial High School
Kelsey Moore - South High School
Pueblo West
Nicholas Autobee - Pueblo West High School
Austin Shepherd - Rifle High School
Yenesis Gonzalez Castaneda - Mapleton Early College
Trace Kreutzer - Bollman Technical Education Center
Allison Gruber - Vail Mountain School
Connect with the scholarship winners at Explore and “like”
Comcast in the community at
The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program is one of the many ways that Comcast gives back to the
communities we serve. Click here to learn more.
Media Contact:
Mary Spillane
(720) 641-2264 • [email protected]

Similar documents