For Immediate Release: March 23, 2011


For Immediate Release: March 23, 2011
White Bear Lake
Area Public Schools
Independent School District 624
Marisa A. Vette
Communications Director
4855 Bloom Avenue
White Bear Lake, MN 55110
[email protected]
For Immediate Release: March 23, 2011
Marisa Vette
White Bear Lake Area Schools
651-407-7695 (o), 651-387-9293 (c)
[email protected]
White Bear Lake Area High School student receives national honor
White Bear Lake, Minn. – White Bear Lake Area High School’s Kairee Feig has received a Silver Medal from the
"Scholastic Art and Writing Awards" and has been invited to a special reception at Carnegie Hall in New York City. Her
award represents her placement in the top 1% of all submissions received on the national level.
The Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, a nonprofit organization, identifies teenagers with exceptional artistic and
literary talent and brings their remarkable work to a national audience through The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards.
Students from across the country in grades 7 – 12 are invited to submit their best works for review. Regional Gold Keywinning works are then forwarded to the national competition, where professionals in the arts select only the top 1% of
all entries as national winners. Some of these young visionaries will follow in the footsteps of past winners such as Andy
Warhol, Richard Avedon, Truman Capote, John Currin, Sylvia Plath, Zac Posen and John Baldessari, all of whom won a
Scholastic Award as teenagers.
In the journey to the national competition, Feig was one of only 137 students to receive a prestigious Gold Key Award in
the Minnesota Scholastic Art competition. Her piece was exhibited at Minneapolis College of Art and Design in January
and February.
Other White Bear Lake Area High School students also were recognized earlier this year at the state level. In a
competition with 1279 individual artwork entries and 168 portfolio entries, WBLAHS students Miles McParland, Anna
Monin, and Lauren Souza were among the 268 students who received Honorable Mentions.
Kairee Feig