Late Night Tales Mixed By Royksopp


Late Night Tales Mixed By Royksopp
Late Night Tales
Mixed By Royksopp
1. Röyksopp ­ Daddy's Groove ­
2. Rare Bird ­ Passing Through
3. Little River Band ­ The Light Of Day
4. Tuxedomoon ­ In A Manner Of Speaking
5. Vangelis ­ Blade Runner Blues
6. Röyksopp ­ Ice Machine ­ EXCLUSIVE
7. Johann Johannsson ­ Adi Et Amo
8. F.R. David ­ Music
9. Prelude ­ After The Goldrush
10. Richard Schneider Jnr. ­ Hello Beach Girls
11. Acker Bilk ­ Stranger On The
12. Thomas Dolby ­ Budapest By Blimp
13. Byrne & Barnes ­ Love You Out Of Your Mind
14. Andreas Vollenweider ­ Hands And Clouds
15. John Martyn ­ Small Hours
16. XTC ­ The Somnambulist
17. This Mortal Coil ­ Till I Can Gain Control Again
18. Popol Vuh ­ Aguirre I (Lacrime Di Rei)
19. Benedict Cumberbatch ­ Flat Of Angles (part 2)
Label: Late Night Tales
Released: 16th June 2013
Format: 2 X 180g LP set / CD / Digital
Cat no: ALNCD32
The new edition of Late Night Tales journeys to Scandinavia to invite Norwegian duo Röyksopp
to delve through their record collection. Their Late Night Tales mix is eclectic, diverse and
wonderful. Sliding from light folk to widescreen ambience to experimental rock to prog­pop
(seasoned with the occasional guilty pleasure); it’s all in the spirit of the night.
o Röyksopp announced themselves in 2001 with their hugely successful platinum selling debut
album ‘Melody AM’, establishing themselves among the elite of the hip Scandinavian music
scene. A further trio of albums have followed: ‘The Understanding’, ‘Junior’ and ‘Senior’ – which
includes collaborations with some of Scandinavia's finest: Lykke Li and Karin Dreijer Andersson
(The Knife, Fever Ray) – and there is also the matter of Grammy nominated ‘The Girl & The
Robot’ featuring Swedish pop songstress Robyn and remixes for Depeche Mode, Coldplay,
Beck and Lady Gaga.
o+ Following exclusive introduction track ‘Daddy’s Groove’, Rare Bird’s beautiful 1975 B­side
‘Passing Through’ leads into Australian supergroup Little River Band. The first of several
delicate folk moments, its joined by the ever soulful John Martyn and the surprisingly
chart­topping acapella cover of Neil Young’s ‘After The Goldrush’ by UK trio Prelude.
o+o There’s a strong representation of alternative European sounds. Röyksopp mine deep and
wide to unearth the rare and unusual German psych­pop of Richard Schneider Jnr (featuring
none other than Can’s Jaki Leibezeit on drums), France’s unique F.R. David and the new age
melodies of Switzerland’s Andreas Vollenweider ­ its pop Jim, but not as we know it. There
are also the more familiar names of XTC and Thomas Dolby, as well as Röyksopp’s exclusive
cover of Depeche Mode’s ‘Ice Machine’.
o+o+ The music draws to a close with goth­dream­pop 4AD founders The Mortal Coil’s
Emmylou Harris cover ‘Till I Can Gain Control Again’; blending into a cinematic moment from
German electronic avant­garde band Popol Vuh, contributing to the soundtrack of Werner
Herzog’s 1972 movie Aguirre, the Wrath of God. The second part of the Benedict
Cumberbatch narrated story ‘Flat of Angles’ closes time on this coolly individual edition of Late
Night Tales.

Similar documents

Press Pack

Press Pack 3. The Gino Fontaine ­ Revnorev   4. Salsoul Invention ­ Soul Machine  5. Neurotic Drum Band ­ Neurotic Erotic  Adventure  6. Day Outside – Faraway Sensation  7. Mugwump ­ Boutade (Miseridub)  8. H...

More information