Twenty Years of Student Filmmaking in Florida Now Open for Submissions


Twenty Years of Student Filmmaking in Florida Now Open for Submissions
Media contact: Alex Bimonte
The Buzz Agency
561.716.1062, [email protected]
Twenty Years of Student Filmmaking in Florida
2015 Student Showcase of Films
Now Open for Submissions
Largest Student Film Competition and Award Show in State
Palm Beach County, FL (November 2014) - Student filmmaking in Florida celebrates 20
years through the Palm Beach International Film Festival’s Student Showcase of Films. The
competition is now open for submissions and the deadline is set for January 23, 2015.
The Annual Student Showcase of Films is open to students enrolled in Florida high
schools and colleges. The juried competition recognizes outstanding film students by
presenting more than $10,500 in scholarships and awards in the following categories:
Feature/Shorts, Documentary, Animation, Commercial/PSA, Environmental PSA (NEW),
Music Video, Screenwriting, Poster and an Audience Award. Honoring the legacy of Burt
Reynolds, the festival also awards a scholarship bearing his name and a Sara Fuller
Scholarship through Film Florida. Winning student films will also be screened in their
entirety on the “big screen” at the students’ own premiere during PBIFF.
Competition finalists are honored and presented with cash awards and prizes at a
high profile, one-of-a-kind red carpet award show that will take place at the Keith C. and
Elaine Johnson Wold Performing Arts Center at Lynn University in Boca Raton, FL on
Thursday, March 12, 2015 at 10 a.m.
The Student Showcase of Films has launched a new submission process with that is more convenient than ever. To enter through the online
application program, view the awards breakdown and official rules and regulations, visit or
This program is funded by the Palm Beach County Board of County Commissioners,
the Palm Beach County’s Office of Economic Sustainability, the PBIFF and the Palm Beach
County Film & Television Commission.
About the Palm Beach International Film Festival (March 26 – April 2, 2015)
Celebrating the festivals 20th anniversary, the PBIFF has secured its place as one of
America’s top film festivals including a long history of representing the best in American
independent and foreign films from around the globe. The festival thrives in the true spirit
of independent cinema. The 2014 festival hosted 164 feature films from 42 countries such
as Argentina, Australia, Hong Kong, India, Israel, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway,
Turkey, and the United Kingdom, to name just a few. Over 80 features were presented,
including 30 World, International, North American and US Premieres. Over 90 filmmakers,
cast and crew from 20 different countries attended the festival. In a first-ever collaboration
of its kind, the PBIFF joined forces with the world-renowned Toronto International Film
Festival to present a spotlight on Canadian films. The festivals sidebar “The Jewish
Experience” featured 26 Jewish and Israeli-centric films, including 15 from Israel.
Visiting filmmakers enjoy the hospitality of a film friendly community, welcoming
audiences and making new industry contacts from around the world. Dedicated to making
a difference in the lives of future filmmakers; the festival hosts insightful industry panels,
student filmmaking programs and unique networking opportunities all set against the
background of Palm Bach County’s tropical beaches, waterways and elite venues.
The PBIFF has hosted a bevy of top celebrities and filmmakers including: Academy
Award® Winners: Adrien Brody, Anthony Hopkins, Tommy Lee Jones, Faye Dunaway,
Dennis Hopper, Louise Fletcher and Michael Caine; Academy Award® Nominees: Salma
Hayek, Edward Norton, Robert Evans, Sylvester Stallone, Woody Harrelson, Richard
Jenkins and Burt Reynolds. Along with countless other legends, stars and filmmakers that
have created movie magic for the past 80 years, including: Roger Moore, Faye Wray, Esther
Williams, Anouk Aimee, Samuel L. Jackson, Cyd Charisse, Richard Zanuck, William Friedkin,
Brett Ratner, Jacqueline Bisset, Michael Clarke Duncan and Rod Steiger.
For more information about the PBIFF go to