New brochure 2016 inc saks and hart - final version
The Costume Collection
We have what is acknowledged as one
of Scotland’s finest Costume collections.
Over two thousand pieces of Dress and
textiles, dating from 1775 to the present
day, are beautifully displayed in
annual exhibitions. Below are some
examples of recent exhibitions, lingerie
from the Twenties, frocks and furs from
the Forties, and crinolines from the
The Coffee Room is open to all
visitors to the site. It serves light
lunches, home made soups,
delicious home baking and very
very good coffee.
We are pleased to welcome
groups and coaches, but prebooking is essential.
A Menu can be found on the
Museum website, and like the
Museum we are open all year, but
like them we close over Christmas
and the New Year.
Specialising in home interiors
and gifts, Saks & Hart is situated
in the Old Byre at Dalgarven Mill,
and offers a range of beautiful
furniture, mirrors, lighting, fabric
and home accessories, as well
as a range of elegant gifts and
exquisitely scented candles.
More information can be found
on their website.
Open Wednesday to Sunday.
Saks & Hart Ltd
KILWINNING, KA 13 6 PL
Dalgarven Mill Museum
We are open all year, but closed on Mondays and over
the Christmas and New Year period. See Saks & Hart
website for different opening times .
Easter to October Tues-Sat 10.00-17.00, Sun 11.00-17.00
From October 1st. to Easter the times remain the same, except we
close at 16.00 on weekdays.
How to find us:
There is a Google map on the Website or
KA13 6PL for Sat Nav.
Or put more simply, we are in the village of Dalgarven on the A737
between Kilwinning and Dalry in North Ayrshire.
' The Miller’s Kitchen '
SAKS & HART
Country & Period Living
Scottish Charity SC 022937
Dalgarven Mill Museum of Country Life and Costume
The Dalgarven Mills
Country Life Collection
As an industrial architectural gem in
deepest rural Ayrshire, you will find it
gentle, lovely, absorbing and
different-why not make it an
unmissable experience on your visit to
the district. Birds and wildflowers
abound on our delightful riverside
walk, and you can enjoy the home
baking and freshly made food in our
The three floors of this old building are
illuminated by the lives of the past
rural community, farmers, blacksmiths,
joiners, wheelwrights, saddlers,
dairymen, cheese makers, road
menders and others. Visit their homes,
see their clothes and furniture, and
many other elements of their daily
lives. Scotland once thrived on 'hard
work, godliness and honest poverty.'
At one time the mill provided eighty
percent of all the food we ate.
Porridge, brose and oatcakes being
literally the stuff of life. Come and
enjoy the machinery of the only
local working waterwheel, and
learn to appreciate the skills of the
millers and the role they and their
mills played in Scottish history.
The last hundred years have seen a revolution in rural life,
the large number of people who depended on casual work
on the land for their income, and the craftsmen who
serviced the farms and villages, have also disappeared.
Their story is told on three floors in what has recently been
described as " a museum of rural life that knocks all others
into a cocked hat " Our ancestors lives, tools, machinery,
photographs, furniture and clothes are set out in attractive
and informative displays fitted into the character filled
spaces of the historic listed buildings. You are assured of
a warm welcome, good food and an interesting experience
in this four star visitor attraction.
The grain, wheat and oats, come to the Mill from the farm
and by the power of the waterwheel it is hoisted to the top
floor or garret, and is then emptied into the main hoppers.
From there it is fed down through the mill stones, which
make it into flour or oatmeal, after grinding, elevators
carry the flour back to the top floor from where it passes
down through the graders to be made into fine , medium
or coarse flour or oatmeal as required. It is then put into
the sacks for delivery back to the customer. The process
has changed little since the introduction of cast iron
gearing at the beginning of the nineteenth century, and
now stone ground flour is enjoying a renaissance.
There have been two mills here since 1614, but the original
mill dates from 1203. Both of these mills were powered by
the water of the River Garnock, as is the present mill. After
a fire in 1869, the present very large mill and granaries
were built, and the weir, lades and sluices improved.
The courtyard that the visitor now enters was created by
the addition of a miller’s house, stables, byres and barns.
The Victorian grain mill has also been re-created and the
water wheel is again operational, and turns daily in
summer, river conditions permitting. The riverside walk
and the new view point allow visitors to enjoy the beauty
of this unique corner of Ayrshire at their leisure.